- Applying for Homestead or Relative Homestead
Applying for Homestead or Relative Homestead
Residential/Agricultural Homestead Applications Accepted Electronically
You are required to provide your social security number as part of the homestead application process. If you fail to provide us with the requested information, we will not be able to process your application. Your social security number may be shared with the Minnesota Department of Revenue.
To qualify for the homestead classification you must:
- Occupy the property listed on this application as your primary residence
- Be one of the owners of the property
- Be a Minnesota resident
Your county assessor will determine whether you are a Minnesota resident for purposes of the homestead classification, using some or all of the following criteria:
- You are registered to vote in Minnesota
- You have a valid Minnesota driver's license
- You file a Minnesota income tax return
- You list a property in Minnesota as your permanent mailing address
- You are employed by a business located in Minnesota
- Your children, if any, attend school in Minnesota
- You are not a resident of any other state or country
State law (MS 273.124, Subdivision 13) requires that the Social Security numbers and signatures of the owners, and their spouses, occupying the property appear on the application. Social Security numbers are confidential information. Under state law (MS 273.124, Subdivision 13), they may be shared with the Minnesota Department of Revenue.
Renewing Your Homestead Classification
Once the initial homestead application is filed and the property is granted homestead status, there is no need to file a homestead application again as long as the property is owned by the same party. The property will remain homestead until the property is sold or transferred to another person. Previously, a homestead application had to be filed every 4 years beginning with the 1993 assessment.
A property owner who obtains or attempts to obtain homestead classification for a property other than his or her primary place of residence or the primary place of residence of his or her relative is under state law subject to a fine of up to $3,000 and/or up to 1 year of imprisonment (MS 609.41). In addition, the property owner will be required to pay all tax which is due on the property based on its correct property class plus a penalty equal to the difference between the tax based on the homestead classification and that based on the property's correct class (MS 273.124, Subdivision 13).
In addition to your own homestead, you may be able to obtain homestead classification for property you own in Minnesota in which your relative lives as his or her residence. To receive relative homestead classification, the property must be the residence of any of the following: child, stepchild, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, parent, stepparent, parent-in-law, grandchild, grandparent, brother, brother-in-law, sister, sister-in-law, aunt, uncle, husband or wife. Contact the Wright County Assessor's Office for more information.
If You Move
If at any time you sell the property or change your primary residence, state law requires you to notify the County Assessor within 30 days. If you fail to notify the Assessor within 30 days, you will be required to pay the tax which is due on the property based on its correct property class plus a penalty. Notification Form.
If Your Relative Moves
If at any time your relative no longer occupies your property claiming Relative Homestead, state law requires you to notify the County Assessor within 30 days. If you fail to notify the Assessor within 30 days, you will be required to pay the tax which is due on the property based on its correct property class plus a penalty. Notification Form.