News Flash

Wright County News

Posted on: April 29, 2020

Auditor/Treasurer Issues Candidate Election Filing Notification


The following is the notice of federal, state and county offices that will be voted for at the state general election to be held on Tuesday, November 3, 2020. The filing period for United States Senator, United States Representative, State Senator, State Representative, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court, Judge of the Minnesota Court of Appeals, Judge of the District Court, Wright County Commissioner and Wright County Soil & Water Conservation Supervisor begins at 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday, May 19, 2020, and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, June 2, 2020.

Note: Filing offices will be closed Monday, May 25, 2020 in observance of Memorial Day.

The place of filing for federal offices is the Office of the Secretary of State, State Office Building, Room 180, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155-1299. The place of filing for state offices is with the Office of the Secretary of State or with the county auditor of the county in which the candidate resides.

The place of filing for County offices is with the Wright County Auditor/Treasurer at the Wright County Government Center, 10 2nd Street NW, Room 230, Buffalo, MN 55313. Regular business hours are 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Candidates may file in person or by mail, if the filing is received during the filing period. Candidates who will be absent from the state during the filing period and meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes section 204B.09, subdivision 1a, may arrange to file during the seven days immediately preceding the candidate’s absence from the state. This notice is sent based on current law. Be aware that the Legislature and/or the Governor may take actions that could affect some of these processes due to the COVID-19 situation. This notice is provided pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 204B.33.


Presidential Electors (Ten)

United States Senator (One)

United States Representative (One office per district) District Counties (6) Anoka, Benton, Carver, Hennepin, Sherburne, Stearns, Washington, Wright



State Senator (One office per district)

District Counties

(15) Benton, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Sherburne, Wright

(18) McLeod, Meeker, Sibley, Wright

(30) Hennepin, Sherburne, Wright

State Representative (One office per district)

District Counties

15B Benton, Morrison, Sherburne, Wright

18A McLeod, Meeker, Wright

29A Hennepin, Wright

29B Wright

30A Sherburne, Wright

30B Hennepin, Wright


Candidates for judicial office may file either with the Office of the Minnesota Secretary of State or with the County Auditor in the county where the candidate resides. A Candidate filing for one of the Minnesota Court of Appeals seats that has been designated for one of the congressional districts must be a resident of that congressional district.

Supreme Court

Associate Justice (One Seat)

Seat # Incumbent:

4 (Paul Thissen)

Court of Appeals (Four Seats)

Appellate offices are elected statewide. Where designated, candidates must reside in the congressional district listed for at least one year.

Seat # Incumbent:

3 (2nd Congressional District) (Carol A. Hooten)

9 (7th Congressional District) (Randall J. Slieter)

13 (6th Congressional District) (Jeanne M. Cochran)

15 (3rd Congressional District) (Kevin G. Ross)

District Courts

Tenth Judicial District: (20 Seats): Counties: Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Pine, Sherburne, Washington, Wright

Seat # Incumbent:

1 (Juanita C. Freeman)

4 (Suzanne M. Brown)

5 (Douglas B. Meslow)

6 (Stoney L. Hiljus)

7 (Richard C. Ilkka)

8 (Laura A. Pietan)

9 (Sheridan K. Hawley)

14 (Nancy J. Logering)

15 (Thomas R. Lehmann)

17 (Patrick W. Flanagan)

22 (Melissa M. Saterbak)

23 (Catherine (Kate) M. McPherson)

24 (Karin L. McCarthy)

26 (Barry A. Sullivan)

28 (Karen B. Schommer)

32 (Elizabeth H. Strand)

35 (Ellen Louise Maas)

38 (Gregory G. Galler)

39 (Walter M. Kaminsky)

43 (Jonathan Neal Jasper)


Wright County Commissioner – District 2 (4-year term)

Wright County Commissioner – District 4 (4-year term)

Wright County Commissioner – District 5 (4-year term)

Wright County Soil & Water Conservation Supervisor – District 1 (special election)

Wright County Soil & Water Conservation Supervisor – District 2

Wright County Soil & Water Conservation Supervisor – District 4

Wright County Soil & Water Conservation Supervisor – District 5

The filing fees are as follows:

U.S. Senator $400

U.S. Representative $300

Governor, Lt. Governor, Attorney General, State Auditor and Secretary of State $300

Judges $300

State Senator and State Representative $100

County Office $50

Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor $20

Posted April 23, 2020


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Wright County News

Sheriff's Office Releases Activity Report

Posted on: November 16, 2020

Santa Coming to Bertram Park Dec. 5

Posted on: November 5, 2020

View the Ballot You Will Be Filling Out

Posted on: October 21, 2020

Buckthorn a Problem in Woodland Areas

Posted on: October 13, 2020

Tuesday is National Voter Registration Day

Posted on: September 18, 2020

Absentee Voting In Person Starts Friday

Posted on: September 14, 2020

CSAH 30 Project Nearing Completion

Posted on: September 8, 2020

Road Work on Hwy. 25 Starting Sept. 8

Posted on: September 3, 2020

Sirens to Sound at 1 P.M. Today, But Why?

Posted on: September 2, 2020

Road Closure in Monticello Tuesday

Posted on: August 24, 2020

Why Are Flags at Half-Mast Today?

Posted on: August 19, 2020

Where Is My Polling Place Location?

Posted on: August 10, 2020

Trailblazer Ridership on the Rise

Posted on: March 4, 2020

Husom Reflects on County Plans for 2020

Posted on: February 4, 2020

Confusion Remains Over New T-21 Law

Posted on: January 3, 2020

Long Range Transportation Plan Adoption

Posted on: October 14, 2019