Parks and Recreation Commission

The Wright County Parks and Recreation Commission meets at the Wright County Public Works Building (3500 Braddock Avenue NE, MN 55313) at 6:00 p.m. on the second Monday of January, March, May, July, September, and November.


Provide an organized framework to enable citizens and guests of Wright County to recognize, appreciate, and enjoy the natural and cultural resources of Wright County through enhancement and preservation of larger scale outdoor recreational opportunities not generally available through local municipalities



The Wright County Parks and Recreation Commission has three main goals:

  1. To preserve key natural resources of the county in permanent open space.
  2. To provide sufficient open space for parks, trails, and recreation areas; and while still available, to provide space for activities beyond our vision.
  3. To provide evidence that our generation, by preserving for future generations, had concerns about and took steps to protect these assets to enhance the quality of life today and in the future.



The Wright County Parks and Recreation Commission shall provide opportunities that are consistent with the county's role in the overall system of parks in the region.

  1. The state provides statewide significant parks and open-space needs.
  2. The county should provide intermediate resource-based parks and programs that reflect the needs of the regional clientele.
  3. Municipalities should provide parks that meet their local community needs, including intensive recreational uses.

Wright County should give priority to established parks in areas which;
       1. Provide for year-round multipurpose uses 
       2. Protect fragile and limited biological resources 
       3. Might experience loss of integrity due to development of surrounding areas.

Parks and Recreation Commission District Map


Term Ends
District 1

Martyn Dibben

December 31, 2020
District 2

Melanie Leckey

December 31, 2020

District 3

Marjory Hart

December 31, 2019

District 4

Brad Danielson

December 31, 2018

District 5

Ryan Lazenby

December 31, 2019
At Large

Kevin Bergquist

At Will
County Commisioner Liaison

Mark Daleiden