Driver's License Information
LATEST REAL ID NEWS RELEASE FROM DVS
While there is no need to obtain a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or ID card for two years, Minnesotans will be able to apply for one on October 1, 2018. The cost will be the same as a standard card. An additional fee will be charged if a cardholder decides to renew their driver's license or ID card before it expires.
DUE TO THE COMPLEXITIES OF OUR TRANSACTIONS WE ARE NOW LIMITING OUR HOURS TO THE FOLLOWING:
|Any Enhanced Driver's License or ID Card||8:00am-3:45pm||8:00am-5:15pm|
|Any Real ID Driver's License or ID Card||8:00am-3:45pm||8:00am-5:15pm|
|Standard Driver's License, ID Card or Instruction Permit - 1st Time Applicant, Renewal or Duplicate||8:00am-4:15pm||8:00am-5:45pm|
|Title Transfers and New to State Registration||8:00am-4:15pm||8:00am-5:45pm|
|WE RESERVE THE RIGHT TO ADJUST THESE TIMES ACCORDINGLY|
If you need to take a written or road test you will need to go to the Buffalo Exam Station first and then come to our office to complete your application, pay your fees and have your photo taken. The Buffalo Exam Station is open only on Tuesday and Wednesday. The hours are 8:30 - 12 and 1:00 - 4:30. They are located at 15 First Ave. South, Buffalo MN. You will need to arrive at least 60 minutes prior to them closing to take a written test. You will not need an appointment for a written exam.
Please make sure you have the correct STANDARD DL/ID INDENTIFICATION DOCUMENTS when you go to the testing station to take your written exam.
Commercial, motorcycle and passenger manuals are available at the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website. If you have any further questions, the Department of Driver and Vehicle Services website.
ROAD TESTS ARE BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. If you need to schedule a road test you will need to call 651-284-1234. This is a state-wide scheduling number. You will be asked to choose the location of your exam. You may also schedule online at www.dps.mn.gov.
SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION FEE. Wright County License Bureau does accept suspension and reinstatement fees. They must be paid by CASH or CREDIT CARD.
Renewals of Minnesota Driver's LicensesMinnesota's Driver's Licenses renew every four years after you reach the age of 21. Your Driver's icense does expire on your birthday. There is no "grace period" to renew your DL. You do, however, have one year following your expiration to renew your DL without taking any tests or paying any penalty. Please remember to renew your DL early to avoid any citations if you are stopped by a law enforcement officer. On a renewal we will always take an updated photo and check your eyesight.
If you are under the age of 18 you will need a parent or legal guardian's signature.
You will need to know your Social Security Number for any DL transaction.
Renewing for your 21st Birthday. You may renew your driver's license no more than 60 days before your 21st birthday.
ID cards. We can renew and help you apply for a MN ID card. We will need to take a photo and you will need to supply your Social Security Number. If you quality for a "special" fee, please call our office and we can help you get the application for the 50 cent ID card. You will need to bring two forms of identification for a first time ID card. Please call our office (763-684-4541) to confirm that you have the correct documentation.
Duplicate license requests for an address change or a lost/stolen license. As a Minnesota Resident you are to have your address changed within 30 days after a move within Minnesota.
Beginning July 1, 2015, all drivers renewing their CDL will be required to provide a document from the following list that meets the proof of citizenship requirement.
Valid, unexpired U.S. passport or passport card
Certified copy of birth certificate from any U.S. state
Consular report of birth abroad issued by the U.S. Department of State
Certificate of Naturalization or Certificate of Citizenship issued by U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Valid unexpired Permanent Resident Card
Unexpired employment authorization document issued by USCIS or an unexpired foreign passport accompanied by an approved I-94 form.
If the name of the above document is different from the current name on the CDL, the customer must also present proof of the legal name change(s). Acceptable proof consists of certified marriage certificates, certified divorce decrees or other certified court orders. Divorce decrees or other court orders must specify the name change. Identity and name change documents need to show a clear link between the citizenship or permanent residency document and the current name.
NEW or RETURNING to the State
If you are new to the state or applying for first time permit or driver's license, you will need to go to the testing station first. Individuals entering the state or returning to the State of Minnesota will need to take a written test. You will need to bring documentation to confirm your name and how you got the name you are using. For more information on these types of applications please call 763-682-7596 or 763-684-4541.
Fees for Driver's License and Identification Cards
Class A regular: $51.00
Class A under 21: $31.00
Class B regular/under 21: $43.00
Class C regular/under 21: $36.00
Class D regular/under 21: $32.00
Provisional (initial license) $19.25
Provisional upgrade to under 21: $32.00 or $28.50 ($3.50 credit with no violations on record)
Instruction Permit: $15.50
Lost/Stolen/Address Change/Duplicate Fee: $17.00
Motorcycle renewal: $13.00
School Bus original/renewal: $4.00
EDL application fee: $15.00
State Identification Fees
Under age 65: $21.50
Age 65 and older: $20.75
Reduced Fee ED: $.50
A Reduced Fee Identification Card is available to person with a physical or developmental disability or qualified mental illness. To qualify, you must submit a completed Eligibility Form at time of application.
***WE ACCEPT CASH, CHECK & CREDIT/DEBIT CARD***