The Wright County Sheriff’s Office, Deputy recruitment is currently open. We are seeking extraordinary individuals with strong communication skills who are passionate about being involved in the communities they serve. If you are looking for endless opportunities in a progressive well-trained organization, please follow the Wright County Employment-Opportunities site. For more information on what Wright County can offer you along with a message from Sheriff Sean Deringer, please view the recruitment video.

Recruitment Video

Wright County Employment-Opportunities


Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic the Sheriff’s Office will be implementing the following procedures beginning Saturday, March 28th. These procedures have been put in place to protect the public, inmates, as well as Sheriff’s Office staff. The following procedures will remain in place until further notice. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause but appreciate your understanding of the importance of these temporary procedures and look forward to continuing our service to you.

1. Beginning Monday, July 6th the upper lobby at the LEC will re-open to general walk-in traffic. This means no appointments are needed for our records window, civil process window or to apply for a permit to carry a firearm.

Appointments will still be required for jail visiting by calling, 763-684-2381. Additional information on jail visiting can be found on our website.

2. Permit to purchase firearm applications can be found on the Sheriff’s Office web page and can be completed  along with a copy of your current drivers license and sent to the Sheriff’s Office general email

or mailed to our Office at 3800 Braddock Ave NE, Buffalo, MN 55313.

3. Permit to carry applications must still be submitted in person and can be done at the Sheriff’s Office.

4. To pick up property from our Property / Evidence room please call the following numbers:

763-682-7680 or 763-684-2363

5. Please see the following link for special instructions concerning jail visitation and instructions specific to the Wright County Jail.

6. For questions regarding civil process please contact Sgt. Endreson at 763-682-7646.

7. For records requests please contact our records division at either

763-682-7630 or 763-684-4535

If you have any questions at all please contact us:

Sheriff’s Office Administration: 763-682-7622

Jail Administration: 763-684-2381

The office of sheriff has a history that spans more than 1,300 years, starting in England sometime before the year 700 A.D. Since our system of government is based in large part on English law, the concept of the sheriff was brought to this country by the early colonists. In Minnesota, each of the 87 counties has a sheriff who is elected to office by citizens of their individual counties to a four year term. The sheriff is the chief law enforcement officer within the county.

The Wright County Sheriff’s Office is the 3rd largest sheriff’s office in Minnesota. We provide law enforcement services to the unincorporated areas of the county and additionally contract police services with 13 cities. There are eleven divisions within the sheriff’s office: Administration, Bailiff, Civil Process, Communications, Community Services, Corrections, Criminal Investigations, Patrol, Recreational Enforcement, Special Investigation’s Unit (Narcotics), and Warrants / Transports.

Commitment To Service

Wright County’s location just west of the Twin City metropolitan area has contributed to its rapid growth in recent years. The Sheriff’s Office has continued to meet the challenge by providing quality, efficient, cost effective law enforcement services to the citizens of the county.

Our organization holds itself accountable to the guiding principles of integrity, professionalism, caring and fairness. 

Sheriff's Office FAQ's

Wright County Citizen Alert System

We have launched a new Citizen Alert service that allows us to alert you. You opt-in to enter your contact information and subscribe to notifications you care about based on your location. The information you provide is protected and will not be used for any other purpose

How it works

When we issue a notification about a potential safety hazard or concern, you will receive a message on the voice or text communication methods that you have registered. If requested for the notification, you can confirm that you have received the message and you will not be contacted by any subsequent methods regarding that particular notification. If you do not confirm, the system will continue to attempt to reach you at all of the contact methods that you have provided.

Sign up for Notifications

Create an account and add your contact and location information into the Citizen’s Alert system. All information you provide will be kept strictly confidential.

Stop Receiving Notifications

You can stop receiving at any time by removing your contact information from your profile

To sign up for this service please follow this link