Economic Development Authority

EDA Board Member Opening 

The Wright County EDA has an opening for one at-large board member. At-large board members must be residents of Wright County and will serve a term of six years. The EDA board is looking for candidates experienced in economic development or who have worked with Economic Development Authorities previously. If interested, please submit an application by December 17, 2021. Contact Elizabeth Karels with any questions. 

EDA Accepting Offers on the Human Services Building

The Wright County Economic Development Authority is accepting offers for the purchase and redevelopment of the Wright County Human Services Center, located at 1004 Commercial Drive in Buffalo near the intersection of Highway 55 and Highway 25. Click here to learn more about the property.

For those with questions, please contact Elizabeth Karels, Wright County Project Administrator, at (763)684-8604 or email her at

What is the Wright County Economic Development Authority? 

The Wright County Economic Development Authority (EDA) is a local authority, a subdivision of Wright County with the primary objective of shepherding economic growth within Wright County. 

The EDA operates under the authority of Minnesota Statute, Sections 469.090 through 469.1082. 

How was the EDA established? 

The formation of the EDA was recommended by an Advisory Committee which included city and township representatives. The committee met in August and October 2020 and provided a report in November 2020. 

In November 2020, the Wright County Board passed a resolution establishing the Wright County EDA.  

What will the EDA do? 

Facilitate and guide redevelopment of county owned properties

County EDAs have much more legal authority to pursue the repurposing of public assets than counties do themselves. The EDA will facilitate and guide the redevelopment of the current Government Center and Health & Human Services Building located in Buffalo. These two properties are anticipated to be vacated by Wright County staff at the end of 2021. 

Partner with local communities

The EDA  will partner with local cities and townships as well as the Wright County Economic Development Partnership (WCEDP) and support their efforts to achieve specific projects and advance broader initiatives. 

Access state and federal resources

The EDA will seek to access state and federal resources that are available mainly to larger public development agencies. 

Is there a difference between the Wright County EDA and the Wright County Economic Development Partnership (WCEDP)? 

The Wright County EDA and the WCEDP are separate organizations, with similar missions of shepherding economic growth within Wright County. The EDA is a subdivision of Wright County, while the WCEDP is a non-profit member organization dedicated to supporting and creating a sustainable economic profile in Wright County. 

WCEDP partners with Wright County Chambers, Cities and Townships, educational and financial institutions, along with its many members, to fulfill its mission of creating a healthy and diverse environment for existing, expanding and new businesses. WCEDP takes an active role in:

     • Business retention and expansion

     • Workforce development

     • Advocating for businesses at a local, state and federal level

     • Creating a healthy environment for startups

     • Facilitating capacity building seminars around economic development

     • Promoting and marketing all businesses in Wright County

     • Marketing Wright County

More information on WCEDP is available on their website:

Meeting Schedule 

The EDA is scheduled to meet the second Thursday of each month at 11:00 a.m. Meetings are held in the Wright County Board Room and via Microsoft Teams. 

EDA Board Members & Staff

Email Address
Phone Number
Darek Vetsch, President (763)682-7687
Christine Husom, Vice-President (763)682-7697
Mark Daleiden, Board Member (763)682-7686
Mary Wetter, Board Member (763)682-7696
Michael Kaczmarek, Board Member (763)682-7685
Phil Kern, Board Member (763)972-0565
Lee Kelly, Executive Director (763)682-7378
Elizabeth Karels, Project Administrator (763)684-8604